Hellcat Pack Take 2; Woodland Voodoo Boogaloo!

Sorry for the silly second part of the title….. hahahahha anyways! since I could not find the DEI Quick Release hardware for the original MOLLE II straps; I decided to cut them off and attach ITW-Nexus Side Release buckles, the same kind of hardware used on the MOLLE gear and SKS gear I made in the past; they are effective, and field repairable, without needing to scrounge hard to find parts.

So after having modified the straps, I mounted them to my Woodland ALICE pack with the MOLLE belt already attached, I am not sure if I put the Load Lifter straps on correctly; since I had disassembled the parts from those straps a long time ago…I hope what I did is OK….but will find out… anyways, since the MOLLE waist belt have the 2 First Aid Pouches already attached, I used them for my hammock suspension tree straps and tarp guy lines and ridge line in one pouch, and my first aid kit in the other pouch, thus freeing up the two ALICE side pockets for foods and such….and also freeing up the top part of the ALICE pack for whatever small gear I might need to lash to. Also, I chose to not reuse the M1967 Sleeping Bag carrier and used the two dark green 1″ cargo lashing straps I have that were formerly on my bicycle rack for lashing bulky items. This saves weight a bit by not having an additional piece of fabric or having metal hardware (1″ Fastex buckles as usual). That is how I have my camo compression stuff sack attached to the bottom. otherwise, packing list is virtually the same as the OD version, with the tarp stakes now sharing the small interior pocket with the hammock.

 

DSCN1693

Close up of the Fastex buckle modification; I cut the stitching below the end of the strap where the original DEI Quick Release buckle hardware was, and folded it under the Fastex buckle, and bar tacked it in two lines for security.

DSCN1687

The pack loaded upDSCN1688

Right Side view, Kershaw fillet/fishing knife placed above 2 qt canteen, which is modified to now have a CamelBak strawDSCN1690

Left side, same as OD version, but without pouches or gear up above the 2Qt canteenDSCN1692

back of pack, with the MOLLE II shoulder straps and Waist belt, and showing the CamelBak straw threaded through the open spaces of the strap; I am considering getting a yard of Coyote tubular webbing or Brown or Green tubular webbing to serve as a straw cover.

Leave a Reply

