Hammock Shelter/Bivy and tarp group shelters, Vintage hiking pack

 

SO I scored a vintage Academy Broadway Jasper hiking pack from a thrift store for cheap, and modified the straps and belt to better fit me…. It is pretty useful, and very roomy..more room than the ALICE Medium packs I own. I loaded it up and put on my MSS bag with the ECW Intermediate bag and Hammock Underquilt on the bottom, there is still room in main compartment for food and such, small pockets hold fire starting kit and folding stove, along with straps and cordage. Pictures are of the pack with the Coleman PEAK 1 and the ALICE medium for comparison. DSCN1724 DSCN1725 DSCN1726 DSCN1727 DSCN1728 DSCN1731 DSCN1732 DSCN1733 DSCN1734

 

Below is my group shelter, with a 12×9 tarp as main panel, and 3 9×7 tarps as floor and side panels, it is roomy and can accommodate up to 6 people, probably more comfortable for 4. ideally, it would be split into 4 packs for 4 people, so as not to overburden one person with all 4 tarps. DSCN1748 DSCN1749And here is the 12×9 tarp as a hammock shelter; pitched A frame with porch, and with a 9×7 tarp on ground (folded lengthwise) as ground sheet.

DSCN1723And here is another shelter, a duck hunter camo bivy, at first I didn’t know how it was really supposed to set up, until I set it up the way that it was originally set up and noticed that one edge was supposed to be sewn to another edge, so I added a 70″ zipper to that edge to enable it to become a hammock shelter as well as a bivy shelter. it is 8 ft long on the top portion, just shy of 6 feet on the width of the top, and 6 ft long on the bottom, and same width as the top. Below are the first set up pictures, you can see the open edge and the 3 corner grommets that puzzled me until I added the zipper to it.

DSCN1750 DSCN1751 DSCN1752 DSCN1753Sewn zipper to the open edge, and set it up, turns out the grommets on the corners were so that it could become doors, and thus the lines existence became clearly for tying them into doors.

DSCN1757 DSCN1758and I set it up as a hammock shelter, which is the reason for the zipper to be where it is, and it is very much a minimal coverage shelter on the ends, I may add two triangle pieces of Coyote Brown material to the ends, so that I can have more overhead coverage.

DSCN1759 DSCN1760 DSCN1761I haven’t spent a night in the hammock yet, and I will be doing some adjustment to the ridge lines of both the shelter and the hammock structural ridge line.

Hope you guys enjoyed this post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

