Redid my hammock shelter into a minimalist tarp!

SO like the previous post said, my attempt failed at an integrated hammock shelter/bug shelter/ under cover…….

so I took it all apart, and did a few sketches and made a plan; Bat-Wing Tarp designIts based off of Hammock Forums’ member Gargoyle’s Ogee Tarp; and built using just the 55″x144″ material I have on hand;

it is now a very light, compact tarp, I will need to redo my hammock suspension so that I can put the tarp closer to the body of the hammock..

Bat-Wing Tarp Design 1the tarp over my hammock, it looks like a bat wing doesn’t it!?Bat-Wing Tarp Design 2angled view of the tarp

Bat-Wing Tarp Design 3head on view of the tarp, yes it is narrow, and that is the door/beak corner system

Bat-Wing Tarp Design 4 Close Upclose up of the triangle parts, I have an extra tie out there in case I want to do a tent pole spreader mod so that it opens up more on the inside.

Bat-Wing Tarp and Hammock  belt kitthe whole system; I now need to figure out the stakes/guy line situation as to how to pack them without getting the hammock dirty..,might use an USGI M16 cleaning kit pouch? the pouch on the far right holds my tarp, yes that is right, it packs down ridiculously small! the SAW ammo pouch holds the hammock, and the other small pouch holds the suspension parts, these two small pouches were my prototypes for the SKS ammo clip pouches.

 

2 thoughts on “Redid my hammock shelter into a minimalist tarp!

  1. Goodness gracious!!
    What material is that tarp made out of that allows it to compress down SOOO SMALL!?!?!?
    That is absolutely A-MAZING!

    • 1.1oz Nylon Ripstop with Silicone Impregnation… available from Ripstop By The Roll 🙂 Understand that it is only 60 sq feet of coverage (4 yards of 59-60″ wide material), so if you want more coverage, then more material is needed, and may not compress as small as this one does. It truly is Minimalist

Leave a Reply

