Trip report; Slide Creek camping

SO I am back from a weekend camping out in Slide Creek area in Oregon, part of the Santiam State Forest/Willamette National Forest; a weekend with friends, and a test of the Bat Wing tarp and DIY hammock! I must say, I had a great time!DSCN1852The view of the camp site; my hammock tarp is somewhere to the right in the woods;

DSCN1853Slide Creek from the camp site

DSCN1854My hammock tarp camp site; the trees are barely over 12 feet apart; and I only used two stakes; tied the corners of the ends to the trees

DSCN1855with vinyl ground cloth and my pack and Gilmour bow saw to process dead fall wood for fire

DSCN1876The view inside the tarp; that is my USGI Intermediate Cold weather sleeping bag; I have a blue camp pad inside to keep me insulated on the bottom.

DSCN1856looking out to the parking area and National Forest Road 4695; which leads to Brietenbush Road

DSCN1857a trail going into the woods; beautiful scenery!

DSCN1858the Sun shining through;

DSCN1867here be life and dead wood; such is beautiful woodland.

DSCN1864the natural bridge made by felled trees; these trees fell down from a windstorm a while back, a few have been cut in order to provide some firewood; but the majority are left alone

DSCN1866the root base of one of the bridging trees; it is a large base, and provides a good shelter for animals and critters; the ground is so very rocky

DSCN1868one of the Russula mushrooms; I am not sure which species of Russula this one is;

DSCN1870a Western Trillium that’s aged; it is a beautiful flowering plant

DSCN1873a Fairy Slipper; one of the native Orchids in the Oregon/Pacific NW woodlands

DSCN1871a small tree sprouting out of a large dead stump

DSCN1872further up Slide creek; there is evidence of rock slides and bank erosion from storms

DSCN1878A couple of Harlequin Ducks!

DSCN1879another shot of the Harlequin Ducks

DSCN1860Bushcrafting with my vintage Colonial Bowie

DSCN1861and again with the Buck 103 Skinner; making great curling chips

DSCN1863making a tinder stick with the Imperial Ireland small knife

DSCN1875making another tinder stick with the Imperial R.I. bowie knife; it carves pretty good on white pine

DSCN1859A cup of hot chocolate over an Esbit stove

DSCN1862the campground fire pit; modified a little bit so that there’s a draft and a way to feed the large logs into the fire; they are all dead fall/dead logs

The weather was a typical Oregon springtime weather; spots of sun and lots of showers, overnight temps went down to the 40s; and I was toasty warm in the USGI Intermediate Cold Mummy bag and pad; the tarp kept me and my gear dry!

Leave a Reply

