Hellcat Backpack Rig and backpacking FOOD!

OK So I decided I wanted to see how much room I would have by packing the ALICE pack on top of my system, instead of the small Recon pack; turns out for 4-5 days with a polyester fleece pull over and a rain coat, I have more than enough room in the main pack, and the MOLLE sustainment pouches are now only half full of food; which means I could in theory, bring a lot more foods for a much longer backpacking trip…. DSCN1971I know it looks rather bulky, BUT it holds a lot more than I thought..

DSCN1972everything laid out. Clothes are all in the main ruck, hammock and top quilt goes into stuff sack; canteens and cup goes into two pouches on main ruck, hammock hanging straps, stakes, cordage, and mini stove goes into center small pouch on main ruck, foods go into MOLLE sustainment, hydration bladder, 64OZ/3L goes into a pouch between ruck and frame.

DSCN1973clothes for three or four days, depending on conditions. I can add another shirt and another pair of pants in main ruck and still have room…..

DSCN1974foods and cooking and such;

Ben’s rice, Zatarin’s Rice, Idahoan instant potatoes, Marie Callendar’s Quick Sides, Ramen Noodles and granola bars; all require only hot water to be cooked in; hence the steel canteen cups. small Esbit stove with tabs, first aid kit, wand lighter, knife, and gloves are also shown. I will be adding GORP (Good Old Raisins and Peanuts) along with jerky and possibly candy bars for the backpacking trip soon. Might also add something with more protein, like foil packed chicken and peanut butter….(to spread on tortillas…)

What else am I missing?

Total weight!

with 1 gallon of water, it comes out to 40 pounds or so; which isn’t that bad honestly…clothes made up for 9 pounds, water made up for almost 9 pounds (round up to 9 due to canteens and bladder weight); pack is 11 pounds empty…rest of the weight is in foods and hammock/tarp/top quilt, and misc things. I may pick up a water filter and reduce weight by removing half of the water, may reduce more by getting lighter pants and clothes, foot wraps instead of socks….I’m not sure yet. I walked a few miles with this rig, and it is pretty comfortable…. I could reduce the pack weight even further by going to a different external frame pack but it isn’t as comfortable….so I am not sure.

comments are welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

