Location scouting and Hammock Underpad design!

Went on a location scouting trip yesterday, and I would’ve stayed the night, if I had brought bug spray and bug netting……oh well. Moose Creek is the location, it is off the same road I went for a day trip a while back, but closer to the main highway and on the creek itself….

DSCN1983The walk in site, which have trees at good distances apart for hammocking, were I to camp with a group,  I would mount the hammock one end on the tree further back, so as not to have the tarp lines too close to the fire.

DSCN1990short walk in trail from the dirt road parking; behind that campsite, is a trail down to the creek;

DSCN1982a view looking out from the campsite;

DSCN1984Looking NW from the dirt road, the main road, Moose Creek Road (or as Google Maps says, Moose Mountain Road) is behind the berm, you can see one campfire ring in the picture;

DSCN1985view looking East; there are three more campfire rings in the area; two far back, and one to the left (North)

DSCN1986one of the campfire rings; the ground is rocky here though, but this is a good place for vehicles, air mattresses, or cots…

DSCN1987The sign at the South West end of the area; next to where dirt road stops at a gate; which means the area South of this and to the East, is not open to unauthorized vehicles ,I am not sure of hikers though.

DSCN1988A Notice posted by Sweet Home Rangers; detailing that some sites in the area may become day use areas or closed to camping due to trash and dumping of things…I did not find such evidence, perhaps it had been cleaned up before.

DSCN1981Made myself a nice little twig fire with esbit as a starter…..one thing I dislike about esbit is that it leaves a film of gross stuff on the canteen cup….

DSCN1991Moose Creek from the bridge, the campsite I scouted, is to the left, East of the creek, while there are other campsites to the West of the creek, and several more up the road leading North east up into the mountain..

And I decided I wanted to test this hammock under pad I made from a Wal MArt mattress topper; unlike blue Closed Cell foam, Open cell insulates best when not compressed; so hanging it like an under quilt helps a lot…..

Under Pad first testFirst test set up,

Under Pad endThe ends are not against the hammock, so I needed to cut it so that it conforms to the hammock

Under Pad revised 1Ah revised; these triangles are where I cut the material of the foam, so as to make a shape; Also, I cut the pad down to 48 inches long, and it is 50 inches wide, being a Full size width.

Under Pad Revised 2MUCH better; no load in the hammock….I laid in it and it is warmer….some drafts though, but I will be adding the poncho as an under cover, until I can get silnylon for the under cover;

Under Pad suspension triangleDetail of the suspension triangles for mounting hammock under pad and under quilts; I will be revising them to include plastic toggles so I can just loop the under pad suspension to the triangles instead of tying knots.

Leave a Reply

