Redone Whelen shelter set up!

I decided to try for an overnight trip out to Cascadia area in the Willamette National Forest….using my Modified Whelen setup using USGI Shelter Half parts….well. Weather took a turn for the cold and I was unable to maintain core temperatures so I had to give up the overnight part…Oh well! This set up uses 3 whole halves and two cut triangle ends from a fourth half..USGI poles and two steel poles, and 10 stakes. Took a long time to get the fire going…and I used two wool-blend blankets plus a 3/8 inch CCF foam pad underneath my modified USGI Intermediate Cold weather mummy bag….wearing wool socks, wool sweater, nylon pants and a cotton undershirt…as well as the USGI ECW parka inside the sleeping bag, I was still unable to stop the coldness from the ground.

The shelter has one half as a floor on top of an USGI poncho, while two halves are used on the top parts plus the triangle parts as panels in between the two halves.

Here are the photos of the camp set up!

DSCN2154Whelen style/Baker style set up. At first I thought I set it up way too close to the fire, but later in the evening it proved to not be the case.

DSCN2155

Another view of shelter set up

DSCN2156

Sleep area, showing the poles and the floor cloth used, along with the bags for storage of everything. I used my MYOG backpack to carry the complete shelter, and the black MSS bag to carry the wool blankets and the sleeping bag. The blue CCF pad went under the top flap.

DSCN2157Later, due to the smoke coming into the shelter, I took the awning off.

DSCN2158

Another view of the set up without awning

DSCN2159By this time, it was getting REAL cold, and I wasn’t sure if there was going to be some rain or snow, so I set up the awning again, but this time folded the ends over so that the wind will keep blowing the smoke out of the shelter, wind direction was mostly parallel to the shelter face.

For the next cold weather camp trip, I am going to attempt to make either an Ammo Can stove or a Popcorn Tin stove, and order polypropylene long johns for a base layer.

 

Leave a Reply

